Ask Dr LeBlanc:
Prevention is the key to success!

Will my children need braces?

Will my children need braces? Should I wait until all of their baby teeth are removed before consulting an orthodontist? Will I need braces? Can I have braces as an adult?

Children should be evaluated by a general dentist because there may be underlying problems that need evaluation prior to having orthodontic treatments. Decay, gingival disease, oral hygiene, bad habits (such as having thumb in mouth, etc) are major factors that need to be addressed prior to any orthodontic treatment. Generally, children need to be evaluated when they are young to prevent certain oral problems. Also, some children may benefit from having an early orthodontic treatment in the mixed dentition period, when the child has both adult and baby teeth, to prevent having full braces or surgery at a later stage. Again, a thorough evaluation should be done to diagnose these problems at an early age. Orthodontic treatments can be done at any age for aesthetic or functional reasons such as: improving bite, moving teeth for eventual implant placement, or relieving jaw pain.

My teeth are yellow, can I have my teeth whitened?

My teeth are yellow, can I have my teeth whitened?

There are many factors to consider before having your teeth whitened. It is always better to consult prior to having a teeth whitening because there is a lot of information that patients need to be aware of prior to this treatment. Underlying cavities, exposed roots, periodontal disease are only a few of the factors that can lead to developing further problems if teeth whitening is undertaken before stabilizing the oral condition.

Should I have my wisdom teeth removed?

Should I have my wisdom teeth removed?

Wisdom teeth (or third molars) may or may not have enough room to fully erupt and become functional teeth. An evaluation with a panoramic radiograph should be done when the patient is over 16 years old. In certain situations, wisdom teeth can be maintained if hygiene is adequate. However, in other situations wisdom teeth can lead to complex problems such as infections, decay, gingival problems and jaw fractures in rare trauma cases. Referral to a specialist may also be required to prevent further problems. It is always best to have them removed earlier in life (before 30 years of age) because the jaws will heal better when the individual is younger.

What is a dental implant?

What is a dental implant?

A dental implant is a fixture that replaces a missing tooth. It consists of a titanium screw which is fixed intricately within the confines of the jaw bones to replace the missing tooth, or help stabilize partials or dentures. Adequate treatment planning must be effected prior to implant placement to ensure treatment success.

What is a crown?

What is a crown?

A crown is a fusion of porcelain to a substructure of precious metals or full porcelain that protects teeth that have been traumatized or decayed. Its purpose is to re-establish the full function of the tooth and protect its weakened state.

Why are my teeth sensitive to cold?

Why are my teeth sensitive to cold when I drink or go outside?

There are many reasons why teeth can be sensitive to cold. Gingival recession (exposed roots), decay, defective restorations, enamel abnormalities are all possible causes of sensitivity. Further evaluation may be needed to explore the possible causes and treatments necessary to resolve this sensation.

At what age should my child first be seen?

At what age should my child first be seen?

Generally, we recommend examining children at age three. However, if there are concerns with any oral or dental conditions, parents are encouraged to bring their children for a consultation at any age. Introducing a child to a positive dental experience at an early age will greatly reduce the possibility of anxiety and fear of the dentist.

Questions au dentiste :
La prévention est la clé du succès!

 

Mes enfants ont-ils besoin d’appareils orthodontiques ?

Mes enfants ont-ils besoin d’appareils orthodontiques ?
Devrais-je attendre jusqu'à ce que mon enfant perde ses dents de lait (dents d'enfant) avant de consulter un orthodontiste? 
Ai-je besoin d'appareils orthodontiques? Est-ce que je peux avoir des traitements orthodontiques à l'âge adulte?

Les enfants devraient tous être évalués par un dentiste généraliste avant d'avoir des traitements orthodontiques, car plusieurs problèmes pourraient coexister avant la pose des appareils. L'hygiène, la motivation des jeunes, l'absence de carie, les habitudes doivent toutes être évaluées avant ces types de traitement. Certains enfants peuvent même profiter d'un traitement orthodontique en dentition mixte (période de dentition ayant les dents d'enfant et adulte) pour prévenir une deuxième phase d'appareils orthodontiques fixes (broches) ou même prévenir la chirurgie des mâchoires plus tard dans la vie. Les traitements orthodontiques peuvent être effectués à tout âge pour des raisons esthétiques et fonctionnelles.

Est-il possible de blanchir mes dents?

Est-il possible de blanchir mes dents?

Il y a plusieurs facteurs qui doivent être évalués avant de blanchir les dents. La présence de caries dentaires, la récession de gencive et la maladie parodontale sont quelques facteurs qui doivent être réglés avant le blanchiment des dents. Ces derniers problèmes pourraient engendrer quelques complications telles que l'hypersensibilité ou même la douleur. Il est toujours mieux de s'assurer d'une santé bucco-dentaire optimale avant d'effectuer un blanchiment dentaire.

Devrais-je faire enlever mes dents de sagesse ?

Devrais-je faire enlever mes dents de sagesse ?

Les dents de sagesse ou troisièmes molaires sont des dents qui apparaissent vers l'âge de 18 ans. Il faut parfois extraire ces dents, car elles peuvent occasionner des caries dentaires, des problèmes de gencive ou des infections aux mâchoires si elles ne sont pas bien positionnées. De plus, certaines malpositions dentaires peuvent occasionner une fracture des mâchoires dans de rares cas de trauma. Nous devons évaluer à l'aide d'une radiographie panoramique le positionnement de ces dents pour décider si elles doivent être extraites. Parfois, nous devons diriger le patient vers un spécialiste pour les extractions. Aussi, il est préférable d'extraire les dents de sagesse avant l'âge de 30 ans, car l'individu guérit mieux en jeune âge.

Qu’est-ce qu’un implant dentaire?

Qu’est-ce qu’un implant dentaire?

Un implant dentaire est un remplacement de la racine d'une dent par une vis en titanium. Cette racine «vissée» sert à reproduire la fonction de la racine extraite pour remplacer la couronne (section de la dent visible, partie fonctionnelle de la dent), ou pour stabiliser un partiel ou dentier.

Qu’est-ce qu’une couronne ?

Qu’est-ce qu’une couronne ?

Une couronne est la fusion de la porcelaine à une structure de métaux précieux ou même une porcelaine entière qui protège des dents traumatisées ou cariées. Son rôle est de rétablir la fonction primaire de mastication tout en protégeant la structure dentaire affaiblie.

Pourquoi mes dents sont-elles sensibles au froid?

Pourquoi mes dents sont-elles sensibles au froid?

Les dents peuvent être sensibles au froid si elles sont cariées, dénudées (récessions ou exposition de la racine dentaire) ou si elles possèdent des anomalies d'émail ou même des restaurations défectueuses. Une évaluation approfondie peut permettre de diagnostiquer certains problèmes. Cette évaluation peut prévenir des infections.

À quel âge devrais-je consulter un dentiste pour mes enfants?


À quel âge devrais-je consulter un dentiste pour mes enfants?

Nous recommandons la première visite chez le dentiste vers l'âge de trois ans. Il se peut que certains enfants doivent être évalués avant cet âge puisqu'ils pourraient avoir des conditions orales qui demandent une attention particulière. Il est donc recommandé de consulter si un doute persiste. Aussi, introduire un enfant au milieu dentaire à cet âge contribue à réduire l'anxiété et la peur du dentiste.